2019 Elections

Caucus Meeting Results

  • Diane Anderson / diane.turtlestone@gmail.com
  • Scott Baird / lscottbaird@gmail.com
  • Scot Reid / sreid24@icloud.com

  • Gary Anderson / garyandbre@yahoo.com
  • Jeremy Canter / jeremy.canter@gmail.com
  • Eileen Moss / emsmoss@aol.com

General Election November 5, 2019

Recently the State of Utah made several changes to the election laws that will affect the way Fruit Heights City holds Caucus Meetings (Utah Code 20A-9-203 & 404). The new changes now require that those who are interested in seeking election or re-election must file a Declaration of Candidacy between June 1st and June 7th, 2019. No individual may be nominated by the caucus unless a Declaration of Candidacy has been properly filed for the individual, a $25 Filling Fee is also required.   

Many residents may not be aware of this, but Fruit Heights City is the only city in Davis County that continues to hold an Electoral Caucus Meeting instead of a Primary Election. This year Fruit Heights City has scheduled to hold its Caucus Meetings on May 16, 2019 at 7:00 pm at the Fruit Heights City Hall.

In 1939, when Fruit Heights City became a town, City leaders organized the caucuses with two non-partisan parties; the Pinecone and the Sagebrush parties. During election years, these two parties gather together to nominate candidates that will run in the upcoming election, these candidates are nominated by the residents and then voted on by the members of the Pinecone and Sagebrush parties. This year there will be three (3) City Council seats available.  Each party will need to nominate three (3) City Council members that will run on the ballot for the 2019 General Election.
If you are interested in filling, the following information will need to accompany the Candidates Declaration of Candidacy:

A Copy of Section 20A-7-801 Statewide Electronic Voter Information Website
A Copy of the Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices
A copy of the Finance Disclosure Requirements
Fruit Heights City Elections are non-partisan.

The Mayor and Municipal Council Members serve four-year terms and are elected at-large

The incumbents are:
Council Seat       Diane Anderson
Council Seat       Gary Anderson
Council Seat       Brandon Halliday

Anyone interested in one of these offices must:
  • Be a U.S. citizen at time of nomination
  • Be a registered voter of Fruit Heights City
  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a resident of Fruit Heights City for at least 365 consecutive days immediately preceding the date of election 
  • Not be a convicted felon
Each person seeking to become a candidate for municipal office should attend the Pinecone or Sagebrush Caucus Meeting which will be held on Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 7:00 pm at the Fruit Heights City Office Building, 910 S. Mountain Road.